Kagera - Bukoba - Tanzania
   Home    About Kagera    Economy    Culture    Tourism    Travel    Forum    Contact    Search




Historical background

Kagera region was formally known as West Lake region. It was renamed Kagera region after the war between Tanzania and Idd Amin of Uganda. The region takes its name from the Kagera River, which flows from Rwanda through northern Tanzania before it penetrates the waters of Lake Victoria, to emerge as the river Nile, the second longest river in the World. This makes Kagera River to be the real source of the river Nile.

Cultural history
Lake VictoriaFor a period of about five centuries Kagera Region had 9 different Kingdoms and a highly hierarchical society. It was during this time that coffee was introduced as a cash crop and bananas were introduced as a staple food. Women of the time were thought to be inferior to men and were treated as virtual slaves. Kings lived in elaborate palaces and were respected as the direct link to god of their kingdoms. The demise of these kingdoms came after Tanzania gained its independence and president Nyerere saw them detrimental to creating National unity. These kingdoms are Kihanja, Karagwe, Kiziba, Misenye, Bugabo, Kyamtwara, Ihangiro, Bukara and Biharamulo. The regimes of these kingdoms were blended into the Germans who colonized Tanganyika in 1890 who are reported to have liked the Haya, the ethnic group of Bukoba and Muleba Districts. Later the British took over from the Germans. Kagera region is considered to be the first area where Lutheran missionaries settled. Roman Catholic and other denominations also now enjoy a large following in the region, which is evidenced by the physical presence of the impressive cathedrals, mosques, jamats and churches found everywhere in the region.